I'm venting and trying to regain my calm, but it's not going very well.
This morning I logged onto my bank account and discovered I was a over thousand dollars overdrawn due to some fraudulent activity on my Paypal account. You've probably heard of Paypal, they call themselves the "safer, easier way to pay" on their website. Well, apparently someone else found it the easier way to pay for something with money I don't have. Arghh!!!! I will get all the money back eventually, but that still doesn't make dealing with it fun.
It all started Wednesday evening when I got home from work. I was unwinding in front of the computer when I suddenly got 4 emails from Paypal saying payments had been processed. At first I thought it was a phishing scheme and wasn't going to open them, but due to a nagging feeling that I should, I opened one. It was a payment for 150 Euros to someone I not only don't know, but someone who doesn't capitalize his name when doing business. (Am I showing my age by being picky about that?) So, I logged on to Paypal and sure enough, there were 4 payments that I certainly didn't initiate. I called Paypal right away, the customer service person I spoke to talked me through filing a report in their "resolution center" and told me that Paypal hadn't taken the money out of my bank yet. I got the impression that I wouldn't need to worry about it, so I went about my normal routine.
So much for normal routine. I guess it's a good thing I'm somewhat paranoid and check my bank balance every day. Now I've filed fraud reports with both Paypal and the bank, and emailed Paypal a few times on top of that (Paypal has not responded to my emails). And, it's really a good thing I get paid at midnight.
All I want to do is stomp my feet and scream. And eat french fries. Unfortunately, I don't have any fries, or money, and someone else has my car. Or maybe that
is fortunate. Hopefully by the time I get home I'll have recovered enough to partake of some stamp therapy. In the meantime, please send calming thoughts my way. And if you happen to have some spare french fries...